Admissibility of Travel by TeJas Trains while availing LTC

LTC Rules for Central Government Employees : Central Government has issued clarification regarding Admissibility of Travel by TeJas Trains while availing LTC. The DoPT OM dated 12.01.2024 regarding LTC claim while travelling by Tejas Trains is given below.

DoPT OM on LTC Claims

Clarification Regarding Admissibility of Travel by TeJas Trains while availing LTC : DoPT OM dated 12.01.2024

F.No. 31011/01 /2024 – Pers. Policy A-IV
Government of India
Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Personnel & Training
(Pers. Policy A-IV Section)


North Block, New Delhi.
Dated 12th January, 2024


Subject:- Clarification regarding admissibility of travel by TeJas trains while availing of LTC – reg

The undersigned is directed to refer to this Department’s O.M. No. 31011/8/2017-Estt. A.IV dated 19.O9.2O17 on the subject noted above, which inter-alia provides that the travel entitlements of Government servants for the purpose of LTC shall be the same as that of TA entitlements, as notified vide Department of Expenditure (DoE), MoF’,s OM No. 19030 /1/2017-E.IV dated 13.07.2017 , except the air travel entitlement for Level 6 to kvel 8 of the Pay Matrix, which is allowed in respect of TA only and not for LTC.

2. This Department has been receiving a number of references including RTI applications regarding admissibility of Tejas trains on LTC.

3. The matter has been examined in consultation with Department of Expenditure (DoE) wherein the DoE has informed that Tejas Rajdhani Express Trains are covered under DoE’s OM No. 19030/1/2O17-E.IV dated 13.07.2017. Accordingly, it is clarified that in addition to trains mentioned in the DOPT’s OM No. 31011/8/2017-Estt.A-IV dated 19.09.2017 only TeJas RaJdhani Express Trains are covered. Further, it is also clarified that the reimbursement of ticket fare of TeJas ExPress trains is not allowed under LTC.

4. The claim of reimbursement in respect of LTC journey is to be settled as per the above instructions, however the cases which have already been settled, need not be reopened.

5. Hindi version will follow.

(Satish Kumar)
Under Secretary to the Government of India

All Secretaries of Ministries/ Departments of the Government of India
(As per the standard list)

Copy to:

  1. Comptroller & Auditor General of India, New Delhi.
  2. Union Public Service Commission, New Delhi.
  3. Central Vigilance Commission, New Delhi.
  4. Central Bureau of Investigation, New Delhi.
  5. Parliarnent Library, New Delhi.
  6. All Union Territory Administrations.
  7. Lok Sabha/ Rajya Sabha Secretariat.
  8. All Attached and Subordinate Offices of Ministry of Personnel, P.G. & Pensions’
  9. Hindi Section for Hindi version

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Scroll to Top